Conference home  | Speakers

Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies Library

ATSILIRN Conference 2-3 August 2005

Conference Programme

Monday 1st August


4.00-6.00         Registration, ATSILIRN AGM or Tour of AIATSIS Library and Archives

6.00-8.00         Welcome Drinks, AIATSIS, Acton Peninsular, Guest speaker Mick Dodson


Tuesday 2nd August

8.45-9.00          Registration

9.00-9.30          Welcome to Country and official opening

                         Matilda House, Ngunnawal Elder

                        Bronwyn Nimmo, Deputy Principal Collections, AIATSIS

                        Bronwyn Nimmos' paper  (opens in new window)

9.30-11.00        Theme - gathering together institutions of memory - Chair, Bronwyn Nimmo

                        Keynote Speaker - Jackie Huggins, University of Queensland

                        Jackie Huggins' paper   (opens in new window)

                        Speaker - Jennefer Nicholson, Executive Director, Australian Library and Information


                        Speaker - Margie Burn - National Library of Australia

11.00-11.20      Morning tea

11.20-12.40      Theme - Indigenous library services - Chair, Mick Dodson

                       Keynote Speaker-Martin Nakata, Director Academic Programs, Jumbunna Indigenous

                       House of Learning, University of Technology Sydney

                       David Kukutai Jones, President, Te Ropu Whakahau

12.40-1.30        Lunch

                       Lunchtime presentation paper by Huria Robens

1.30-3.00          Theme - Implications for Indigenous knowledge in the digital age - Chair, Luke Taylor

                        Wendy Ashwin, Family Information Records Bureau, WA

                        Diane Hosking, Director Audiovisual Archive, AIATSIS

                        Jenny Casey, RMIT Online Publishing

                        Jenny Caseys' presentation  (opens in new window)

                        RMIT website

                        Launch Library Thesaurus

3.00-3.30          Afternoon tea

3.30-4.30          Theme Ongoing responsibilities to culture - Chair, Alana Garwood-Houng

                        Ronald Briggs & Melissa Jackson, State Library NSW

                        Ronald and Melissas' paper  (opens in new window)

                        Rod Stroud, Library Director (Acting), AIATSIS

7-10.30             Dinner - University House, Australian National University


Wednesday 3rd August

9.00-10.30        Theme - Institutions of memory - Chair, Rod Stroud

                       Family History Rebecca Stubbs and Joanne Taylor, Family History Unit, AIATSIS

                       Simon Flagg and Hilary Rowell, Australian Archives

                       Roslyn Russell, 'Memory of the World'

                       Roslyn Russells' paper  (opens in new window)

                              Memory of the World Poster

10.30-11.00      Morning tea

11.00-1.00        Workshop - Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Protocols for Libraries, Archives  and Information Services - Chair, Jennefer Nicholson

                        Dr. Alex Byrne, University Librarian, University of Technology, Sydney

                        Alex Byrnes' presentation and discussion paper

1.00-2.00          Lunch 

2.00-3.00          Theme -' Who speaks for us?' ATSILIRN - Chair, Pat Brady

                        Alana Garwood-Houng,  AIATSIS Library

Tania Schaffer,  State Library of Queensland

3.00-3.30          Afternoon tea

3.30-4.00          Where to now?

                        Summation and discussion

Martin Nakata


For more information please contact:

Rebecca Stubbs

Ph: 02 62461127




Conference Programme Speakers


Page Last Updated: 9 September, 2005
© 2001 Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies – AIATSIS Canberra Australia

Lawson Cres, Acton Peninsula, Acton, ACT 2601